Click to view this email in a browser

spacer.gif

National Housing Law Project Webinars
Contact
National Housing Law Project (NHLP)
703 Market St, Ste 2000
San Francisco, CA 94103
Resource webpage
415-546-7000 x. 3116
mschultzman@nhlp.org

About NHLP
We are a national advocacy organization that provides free technical assistance and training on a variety of housing issues affecting survivors of domestic and sexual violence. We assist transitional housing programs, legal services attorneys, and advocates.
banner 3
Subsidized Housing Basics, Part I
box_top.gif
Please mark your calendars for "Subsidized Housing Basics for Advocates, Part I." Due to popular demand, the webinar will be offered twice, once on November 27 at 2 pm Eastern and once on December 6 at 2 pm Eastern. The webinar is free and will last 90 minutes.
Registration

November 27, at 9 am Hawaii/11 am Pacific/12 pm Mountain/1 pm Central/2 pm Eastern: Register here.

Repeated on December 6, at 9 am Hawaii/11 am Pacific/12 pm Mountain/1 pm Central/2 pm Eastern: Register here.

What Will Be Covered?

Many domestic violence survivors rely on federally subsidized housing to obtain financial independence from their abusers and to avoid homelessness. In this webinar, we will discuss the major features of three federally subsidized housing programs funded by the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD): public housing, Section 8 vouchers, and project-based Section 8. We will discuss the basics of each program, including: tips for telling what program a client is in; who is eligible for each program; how the admissions process works; how much rent clients pay; rules regarding evictions; and helpful resources. Attendees will have opportunities to ask questions about how the programs work.

Who Should Attend?

This training is designed for attorneys, advocates, transitional housing providers, and caseworkers who are new to public housing and Section 8 and who are seeking a basic understanding of these programs.

Who Are the Presenters?

Catherine Bishop and Meliah Schultzman, National Housing Law Project

Logistics

Programs can participate by telephone only if needed. Materials will be emailed out before the training. 1.5 hours of MCLE credit will be available for California attorneys.

This project was supported by Grant No. 2008-TA-AX-K030 awarded by the Office on Violence Against Women, U.S. Department of Justice. The opinions, findings, conclusions, and recommendations expressed in this publication are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the Department of Justice, Office on Violence Against Women.
box_bottom.gif




If you no longer wish to receive these emails, please reply to this message with "Unsubscribe" in the subject line or simply click on the following link: Unsubscribe

Click here to forward this email to a friend

National Housing Law Project
703 Market Street Suite 2000
San Francisco, 94103
US

Read the VerticalResponse marketing policy.

Non-Profits Email Free with VerticalResponse!