Click to view this email in a browser.


More than 35 Students Receive over
$100,000 in Grants
Academy Awards Night
Thursday, May 10


On the eve of its 2012 commencement ceremonies, Cranbrook Academy of Art celebrated another year of outstanding work by its faculty and graduate students at its annual Academy Awards Night. Before a gathering of more than 200 students, families, friends and donors in deSalle auditorium of Cranbrook Art Museum, the Academy conferred more than $100,000 in fellowships, grants, awards and scholarships, including eight distinguished awards for artistic excellence, and merit scholarships on more than 23 first-year students. The awards are designed to support study at the Academy and to aid 2012 graduates in the transition from student to practicing artist.

We are pleased to announce that Sonja Dahl, of the Fiber Department has been awarded a 2012 Fulbright Fellowship to pursue her studies in Indonesia. The U.S. Student Fulbright Program provides grants for individually designed research projects. During their grants, fellows meet, work, live with and learn from the people of the host country, sharing daily experiences.

Jane Ritchie, a 2012 graduate of the Metalsmithing Department, received the Mercedes-Benz Financial Services Emerging Artist Award which recognizes artistic promise with a grant and accomodations to live and work in Berlin, Germany.

The $10,000 Toby Devan Lewis Fellowship was awarded to Kristin Cammermeyer, a 2012 graduate of the Painting Department. This award was created by the philanthropist, art collector, author and curator, Toby Devan Lewis, who has been an avid supporter of young and emerging artists. She created the Toby Fund to give graduating fine arts students at more than 15 schools of art around the country, grants of $10,000 each.

The Robert C. Larson Art, Design, and Architecture Venture Fund was awarded to current Academy students: Lindsay Preston Zappas (Sculpture), Farid Rakun (Architecture), Katie Wood (Fiber), and the Vessel + Page Project Space (Stephen Kent, Ceramics; Kathryn O’Halloran, Ceramics; and Jesselisa Moretti, 2D Design). The shared award of $5000 recognizes and supports the work of innovative and inspired Academy first-year students. The endowment fund was established by Bonnie Larson to celebrate  Robert C. Larson's committment to Cranbrook. Larson was a long-time volunteer leader and donor at Cranbrook, and served as the Chair of the Board of Trustees from 1996-2002. He was also a member of the Board of Governors of the Academy and Art Museum from 1986-2000.

The Stewart Thomson Fellowship to the Haystack Mountain School of Crafts was presented to Marnie Briggs, a current student in the Print Media Department. Marnie will study with the artist Heidi Schwegler during a summer workshop at the Maine-based school.

The Gallery A Award  was presented to Farid Rakun, a current student in the Architecture Department. This award funds the creation and installation of work by a first-year student for the entrance foyer of the Academy's administration offices for the upcoming academic year.

The 2012 Cranbrook Art Museum Purchase Award was presented to Emily Baker, a 2012 graduate of the Architecture Department. Baker's work was on display in the 2012 Graduate Degree Exhibition at Cranbrook Art Museum and was selected for purchase by the Museum Committee. Baker's work will be accessioned into the permanent collection of Cranbrook Art Museum.

The Academy Director’s Award of $500 was awarded to the Craft Mystery Cult, an artist collective of three 2012 graduates which includes Stacy Jo Scott, Jovencio De La Paz, and Sonja Dahl. The Director's award recognizes excellence throughout two-years of study at the Academy.

Twenty-three students, who will continue their second year of study at the Academy in 2012-2013, were awarded Merit Scholarships in recognition of their talent and for meeting high standards during the past year. Merit Scholarships are supported by gifts and independent sponsors, including alumni, private philanthropists, corporations, company foundations, and professional organizations.

Cranbrook Academy of Art
Founded in 1932, Cranbrook Academy of Art is a preeminent graduate school of architecture, art, and design. The Academy is the only institution in the United States dedicated solely to graduate art education, granting the Master of Architecture degree and the Master of Fine Arts degree in 2D Design, 3D Design, Ceramics, Fiber, Metalsmithing, Painting, Photography, Print Media and Sculpture. Renowned alumni and faculty Carl Milles, Harry Bertoia, Charles and Ray Eames, Maija Grotell, Eero Saarinen, Florence Knoll, and Daniel Libeskind among others, have had a major impact on the art, design, and architecture for more than 75 years. For more information visit

Pictured above (left to right): Stephen Kent, Marnie Briggs, Kathryn O’Halloran, Jesselisa Moretti, Jane Ritchie, Emily Baker, Reed Kroloff, Kristin Cammermeyer, Farid Rakun, Sonja Dahl, and Stacy Jo Scott.

cranbrook logo1facebook32.jpg1twitter32.jpg

If you no longer wish to receive these emails, please reply to this message with "Unsubscribe" in the subject line or simply click on the following link: Unsubscribe

Cranbrook Academy of Art & Art Museum
39221 Woodward Avenue
PO Box 801
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan 48303-0801

Read the VerticalResponse marketing policy.

Try Email Marketing with VerticalResponse!