Click to view this email in a browser


Dear Texas Legislator,


As leaders of statewide and regional grassroots organizations, we wanted to inform you that we are working hard to educate and inform voters across the state about the Texas Speaker of the House race.  The conservative grassroots mandate of November has been followed with great voter interest in who leads the House chamber for our fine state. 


We wanted to let you know what information your constituents will be armed with when they are asked why they want their House member to oppose Joe Straus and instead select a true conservative for Speaker of the House.  We have responded with the following information about the current Speaker of the House, Joe Straus:


The first and most important vote of the session is for a conservative House Speaker. It is imperative that Speaker Straus, elected by 11 Republicans and 65 Democrats, be replaced because growing from a 76-74 to a 101-49 Republican majority is a strong conservative message from Texas grassroots voters.


We are convinced that the following record affirms the grassroots’ demand for a NEW Speaker:


  Speaker Straus is NOT pro-life.

  He voted to make it easier to perform third-trimester abortions (SB 419, vote 672 in 2005).

  He supported a Planned Parenthood, NARAL and ACLU sex education bill by co-authoring HB 1842 in 2007.

  He co-authored HB 2704 in 2007 that would have legalized embryonic stem cell research and human cloning.

  He received a 100% rating from National Abortion Rights Action League Pro-Choice America.

  He received $1,000 from “Winning for Women: A PAC for the Government Affairs Council at Planned Parenthood of Southeast & South Central Texas.”

  Following the 2009 session, he was acknowledged and “thanked” for his “tireless efforts” by Planned Parenthood, the nations’ premier abortion provider.

  A Straus-appointed chairman held the pro-life sonogram bill in committee long enough to keep it from coming to a floor vote, even though it had already passed the Senate.

  Another Straus-appointed chairman stopped the “Choose Life” license plate bill.

· Straus’ first Chief of Staff was former Democrat State Representative Clyde Alexander.


In conclusion, many Texans across our state have indicated that the “pledge list” and vote for Speaker of the House is something they will remember long after the 82nd Legislative session concludes.  We intend to remind them of such information at critical times over the next two years.


Please vote for a NEW Speaker in 2011.




Sharron Albertson

Life Chain Texas


Rhonda Arias

Texas Abortion Recovery Alliance


Mike Carr

Chairman, Northeast Tarrant Right to Life Educational Association


Nancy Chalin

Former RNC for Life Chairman

Golden Corridor Republican Women’s Club


Dennis DeWine

Central Texas Voices for Life


Carol Everett

The Heidi Group


Dr. Joseph Graham

President, Texas Right to Life


Jan Hester

Act of Life, Inc.


Katherine Hill

Life Talk Resources


Margaret Hotze

Legislative Administrator Life Advocates


Abby Johnson

40 Days of Life


Christine Melchor

Houston Coalition for Life





Elizabeth Muzyka

RNC for Life Chairman

Golden Corridor Republican Women’s Club


Ned Perez

South Texas STOPP


Therese Perez

South Texas STOPP


John Pisciotta

Pro-Life Waco


Bobby Reynoso

(Brazos Valley) Coalition for Life


Julie Stobbe

Act of Life, Inc.


Amy Voorhees

San Antonio Coalition for Life


Molly White

Women for Life International


Cathie Adams

Former chairman Republican Party of Texas


Colleen Parro Baillargeon

Former RNC for Life Director


Pat Carlson

Texas Eagle Forum


Dianne Edmondson

Republican National Coalition for Life


Linda W. Flower, M.D.

Texas Physicians Resource Council


Richard Ford

Heritage Alliance


Wayne and Donna Garner

Hewitt, Texas 76643


Nancy Goettman

Awake America Ministries

President/ Founder (State active)


Kathy Haigler

Former RPT Secretary & Former SREC SD 11


Sonja Harris AKA RED SONJA

Conservatives in Action


Ann Hettinger

State Director, Concerned Women of America


Tim Lambert

Texas Home School Coalition


Adam McManus

Take A Stand News Alert


Jonathon Saenz

Liberty Institute


Kelly Shackelford

Liberty Institute


Skeet Workman

Tea Party, Lubbock

*Names of organizations  are listed for identification purposes only.

If you no longer wish to receive these emails, please reply to this message with "Unsubscribe" in the subject line or simply click on the following link: Unsubscribe

The Heidi Group
P.O. Box 2050
Round Rock, Texas 78680

Read the VerticalResponse marketing policy.

Non-Profits Email Free with VerticalResponse!