Click to view this email in a browser  |  Forward this message to a friend
 
 
 
acutecaretesting_org logo 2 NewRLogoLarge
Radiometer and acutecaretesting.org present a free webinar:
CE credit for US attendees and Certificates of Attendance for international attendees will be available. See details below.   Preanalytical errors related to venous blood sample collection and handling
 
Wednesday, April 29, 2015 | 14:00 and 18:00 CEST 
Sand Horiz Line for Invitation

Webinar presenter

Ana-Maria-Simundic-photo

Prof. Ana-Maria Simundic, PhD, Specialist in Laboratory Medicine
Clinical Institute of Chemistry
University Hospital Center "SESTRE MILOSRDNICE"
Zagreb, Croatia


Read Dr. Simundic's Bio
Sand Vertical Line for invitation This webinar will be presented twice to allow healthcare professionals in various time zones to participate. Click on your preferred session to register. Time zone conversions are provided below.
Register for 14:00 - 15:00 CEST (8:00 - 9:00 AM Eastern)
Register for 18:00 - 19:00 CEST (12:00 - 1:00 PM Eastern)
Venous blood sampling is the most common invasive procedure in healthcare. A recent investigation performed by the Working group for Preanalytical Phase (WG-PRE) of the European Federation for Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine (EFLM) has shown that blood sampling in Europe is performed by different professions with significantly different levels of education, background, competence and skills.

Surprisingly, in some countries, even administrative staff is involved in venous blood sampling, with little if any education about the procedure and how it can affect the quality of the sample and patient results. Moreover, while guidelines for venous blood sampling are available (CLSI H3-A6), it has been shown that those guidelines are neither implemented worldwide, nor complied with adequately. Such low level of compliance clearly puts patients at risk. Any deviation from the recommended procedure can affect either the quality of the sample or patient well-being.

This webinar will review the steps in venous blood sample collection and handling, focusing on all possible sources or errors and error prevention opportunities. It will outline the most critical characteristics related to the patient’s condition, venous blood collection procedures and sample stability, provide recommendations for successful management of venous blood testing, and examine the tools and resources available for managing the quality of the venous blood sampling procedure.
Sand Horiz Line for Invitation 3

Who should attend?
  • Laboratorians
  • Point of care coordinators
  • ICU physicians and nurses
  • Cardiac ward physicians and nurses
  • Emergency department physicians and nurses
  • Operating room physicians and nurses
  • Quality/risk management
  • Maternity ward physicians and nurses
  • Medical ward physicians and nurses
Sand Horiz Line for Invitation 5

Continuing Education - US Participants:
  • One PACE® credit-hour will be provided for each session. 
  • Each session is approved for 1 Florida CE credit.
    Florida Board of Clinical Laboratory Personnel approved number: 50-12563
Continuing Education - International Participants:
  • A Certificate of Attendance will be available for all sessions for international participants to submit to their appropriate accrediting agencies
 

 
 

 

     
Time zone conversions:  
Session 1: Session2:
Wednesday, April 29, 2015, 08:00 EDT (New York)
Wednesday, April 29, 2015, 09:00 BRT (Rio de Janeiro)
Wednesday, April 29, 2015, 14:00 CEST (Paris)
Wednesday, April 29, 2015, 20:00 CST (Beijing)
Wednesday, April 29, 2015, 22:00 AEST (Brisbane)
Wednesday, April 29, 2015, 12:00 EDT (New York)
Wednesday, April 29, 2015, 13:00 BRT (Rio de Janeiro)
Wednesday, April 29, 2015, 18:00 CEST (Paris)
Wednesday, April 29, 2015, 24:00 CST (Beijing)
Thursday, April 30, 2015, 02:00 AEST (Brisbane)
   
These events are sponsored by:
Radiometer plus acutecaretesting logos 15 pix space
acutecaretesting.org bridges the gap between scientific publications and daily practice surrounding acute care testing. If you would like to receive the acutecaretesting newsletter, please visit www.acutecaretesting.org.
     
  ©2015 Radiometer Medical ApS




Click to view this email in a browser

If you no longer wish to receive these emails, please reply to this message with "Unsubscribe" in the subject line or simply click on the following link: Unsubscribe

Radiometer Medical ApS
Akandevej 21
Bronshoj, Denmark 2700
Denmark